Pitty Pat


OBJECTIVE OF PITTY PAT: Discard all cards in hand first.

NUMBER OF PLAYERS: 2-4 players

NUMBER OF CARDS: 52 card deck

RANK OF CARDS:  A (high), K, Q, J, 10, 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2

TYPE OF GAME: Rummy/Shedding variant

AUDIENCE: All Ages


INTRODUCTION TO PITTY PAT

Pitty Pat is basically a rummy game, following a similar structure to the game Conquian. It is referred to as the national card game of Belize, since it is very popular there, and is suited for 2 to 4 players. Despite the simplicity of the game, it is fun filled and exciting for all ages.

THE DEAL

Pitty Pat utilizes a standard 52 card deck. Players should choose a dealer randomly, this can be by any method one prefers such as cutting the deck or using birthdays. The dealer should shuffle the deck and deal out five cards to each player.

The cards that remain are placed in the center of the table and form the stock or stockpile. The top card of the stock is flipped over, face-up, and is called the upcard. The upcard starts the discard pile. 

THE PLAY

The player who sits to the dealer’s left starts the game. They begin by comparing the cards they have in hand to the upcard. If they have a card in hand of equal rank to the upcard, they must discard it along with any other card in hand they wish. The last card discarded becomes the new upcard and play passes to the left. So, the dealer has the last turn in the sequence.

If a player doesn’t have a card that pairs with the upcard on their turn, they must flip over a new card form the stock. If they are able to match the new upcard, they discard the equivalent card + another card, as usual. However, after one flip, if they are unable to play the turn passes to the left and the mechanism repeats.

This continues until a player has discarded all the cards in their hand, this player is declared the winner. After, a new dealer is chosen and the game repeats!

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (6 votes, average: 3.17 out of 5)
Loading...

16 thoughts on “Pitty Pat”

  1. When a person has what is considered a dead card in their hand and a new up cord comes up do they have to play the dead cord as their discord card

    • Hi Sherrel, While I do not believe there is a rule stating you must discard a dead card, it is typically wise to discard dead cards as they will never be able to be played out of hand naturally, only discarded.

  2. I used to play this game with a friend Ronnie and loved this game!! I’m so happy to find the rules as its been years since I’ve played and can’t wait to teach my children!

  3. When a dealer deals a hand and no player needs the first upright card does the player on the left lose a turn
    Does the first player have to pluck or lose their turn

    • Hi Dedelajaudes, I’m sorry but I am a bit confused by your question. On a player’s turn they may discard a card from their hand if it matches the upcard in rank, and if they complete this action they will discard a second card to be the next upcard. If they do not have a card in hand that matches the upcard, they reveal a new upcard from the stockpile and try to match it once again as described above. If they still are not able to complete this action their turn is passed without discarding any cards. I hope this helps answer your question.

  4. My adult friends and were playing pitty pat, my friend to my right discarded a card, it’s my turn, I do not want or need the discarded card, but my friend to my left does, she grabs the card. I tell her that although she needs the card, she can’t get it because it’s not her turn. Which of us is correct?

    • Hi Sherry, I am confused about your question. In Pitty Pat you never draw cards from the discard pile. Are you perhaps speaking of a different game or a variant I am not familiar with?

    • Hi Ivoreigh, if you have a 4 in hand and the upcard is also a 4 you may discard your 4 from hand and any additional card from your hand to become the new upcard. I hope this helps.

  5. If a player can’t match the upcard and then draws and that card is a match, will that count to allow the player to discard another card?

    • Hi Shelbi, yes! If the card flipped by a player is a match you may use that to discard along with an additional card as usual to complete your turn.

  6. If you deal the cards and I’m sitting before you and I use the top card to get padded but you were padded in your hand who wins padded first

    • Hi Seesavior, I am not sure what padded is referring to. If you are saying that you use the top card to discard all cards from your hand and then the player next to you can do the same, you would still win because you emptied your hand first. I hope this helps. if it did not please let me know and I will answer any other questions you may have.

Leave a Comment